NuSTEC 2024 summer school

Submitted by Anonymous (not verified) on

Group Photo
Group Photo (silly)


The goal of this school is to train the next generation of scientists working on neutrino–nucleus interactions through lectures given by world leaders in the field, discussion sessions, and tutorials. Lecture topics will include theoretical modeling of neutrino–nucleus interactions in various energy regimes, neutrino cross section measurements, Monte Carlo simulation, and physics at long-baseline neutrino experiments.

NuSTEC (the “Neutrino Scattering Theory Experiment Collaboration”, is a collaboration of scientists from a broad range of backgrounds united by the common goal of improving our understanding of the dynamics through which neutrinos interact with matter. This is crucial especially in the context of upcoming large neutrino experiments like DUNE, HyperKamiokande, FASERν, SND@LHC, Fermilab’s short-baseline neutrino program, and many others. In these experiments, cross section uncertainties are the main driver of systematics, so any improvement will immediately benefit their scientific potential. The way to achieve this is through a combination of dedicated measurements (for instance at NA61/SHINE) and a vigorous theoretical effort.

Application deadline: February 29, 2024

Registration fee: 200 CHF (to be paid upon acceptance of application)  This fee covers coffee breaks and social activities, but not accommodation at the CERN hostel (58 CHF/night for single rooms, 77 CHF/night for twin rooms) and no meals (10–15 CHF/meal at the CERN restaurants). Limited financial support is available. If you would like to apply for financial support, please send a message to explaining why support is needed, and to what extent.

Lecturers include:

  • Stephen Dolan
  • Megan Friend
  • Huma Haider
  • Deborah Harris
  • Minoo Kabirnezhad
  • Kevin Kelly
  • Lukas Koch
  • Aaron Meyer
  • Kajetan Niewczas
  • Luke Pickering
  • Ryan Plestid
  • Hallsie Reno
  • Noemi Rocco
  • Ivan Vitev
  • Clarence Wret

Organizing committee  Vedran BrdarAlbert de Roeck  Joachim KoppLaura Munteanu
International advisory committee Artur Ankowski Adi Ashkenazi Stephen Dolan Vishvas Pandey Joanna Sobczyk Clarence Wret
Sponsors CERNJohannes Gutenberg University Mainz




CERN Neutrino Platform Logo
JGU Logo

Conferences, Workshops & Schools
Category ID
Indico iCal
Room Map URL['222/R-001']
Start Date
End Date
Event Chairs
Laura Munteanu,Vedran Brdar,Albert De Roeck,Joachim Kopp