News


Fri, 05/08/2022 - 16:38

The CERN Theory Department is now 70 years old! In May 1952, in its first session in Paris, the Interim Council of CERN decided to create a “Group of Theoretical Studies” with Copenhagen as a provisional location and to appoint Niels Bohr as its Head. Thus CERN-TH became the first fully operating CERN research group. It is curious that until 1954 the cost of the Theory Group (900,000 Swiss Francs per year) represented the main item in the CERN budget. In spite of its venerable age, CERN-TH is as youthful as ever and maintains the same enthusiasm and drive for research that have always defined its spirit.


Fri, 15/07/2022 - 10:16

1) Scientific Associates: 

All applications should normally reach us no later than 16.09.2022 at 12.00 CEST.

https://jobs.smartrecruiters.com/CERN/743999814220390-scientific-associateship

2) Corresponding Associates:

All applications should reach us no later than 16.09.2022 at Noon (12:00 CEST).

https://jobs.smartrecruiters.com/CERN/743999814221257-corresponding-associateship

3) Research Fellows (Member states)

All applications should normally reach us no later than 5 September 2022 at noon (12.00 PM CEST)

https://jobs.smartrecruiters.com/CERN/743999837257009-research-fellowship-theoretical-experimental-physics?trid=3320305b-0f5f-4245-a3a4-e2e46bc46590

4) Research Fellows (Non-Member states)

All applications should normally reach us no later than 15.10.2022

https://jobs.smartrecruiters.com/CERN/743999838400368-non-member-state-research-fellowship-programme-theoretical-physics-?trid=3320305b-0f5f-4245-a3a4-e2e46bc46590

 

Workshops & TH Institutes


Title Dates Category
DUNE Oscillation Analysis Workshop Monday, 15 August 2022 to
Friday, 19 August 2022
Conferences
CERN Winter School on Supergravity, Strings and Gauge Theory 2022 Monday, 22 August 2022 to
Friday, 26 August 2022
Conferences & Workshops
Sustainable HEP - 2nd edition Monday, 5 September 2022 to
Wednesday, 7 September 2022
TH institutes
Veneziano 80 Wednesday, 7 September 2022 to
Wednesday, 7 September 2022
Conferences & Workshops
FCC Flavour Physics Programme Workshop Monday, 12 September 2022 to
Tuesday, 13 September 2022
Conferences & Workshops
FCC BSM Physics Programme Workshop Thursday, 15 September 2022 to
Friday, 16 September 2022
Conferences & Workshops
Physics Beyond Colliders Annual Workshop Monday, 7 November 2022 to
Wednesday, 9 November 2022
Workshops and General meetings
CERN Theory Department Retreat 2022 Monday, 7 November 2022 to
Wednesday, 9 November 2022
Conferences & Workshops

Seminars

Wednesday, 24 Aug 2022

16:00 - Talk by Douglas Stanford - Douglas Stanford - Zoom

Thursday, 25 Aug 2022

13:30 - Rachel Houtz - Rachel Houtz - 4/3-006

Friday, 26 Aug 2022

13:00 - TBA - Francesco Hautmann,Francesco Hautmann,Francesco Hautmann - 4/3-006